Letter to the Graduate

Six years ago, I  (that’s me in the white…wow, my hair was long) graduated from college with a shiny new degree and absolutely no clue what I wanted to do with my life. Fast forward to now, and I’m still not exactly sure, but I have learned a few things. Things I’m still trying to embrace….things that I wish someone would have told me back then. If I could have written a letter to myself at 22, I would have said…

Erz,

It’s okay to not have all the answers right now. Hell, it’s okay to not have any of the answers. The important thing to remember is that you are trying things. You know how to work hard, after all, you worked pretty hard to earn that GPA. During your time here you learned a lot about yourself. Hold true to those beliefs, because you will be rocked with things over the next few years. Make a budget, you’re a smart girl and you can stick to it if you try. Believe me, it will save you a lot of heartache over the next few years.

Don’t sell yourself short. You have a tendency to give up on things because you think someone else will be happier or you’ll be happier  with yourself if you make everyone else happy. You will be happy and you will find love, but if you don’t learn to be honest with yourself, you will always feel like something is missing. It is okay to fall down sometimes, we all do. I don’t know why you think you have to be a superhero, but you don’t. That’s exhausting and completely unrealistic. Ask for help, people will respect you for it.

Most of all, believe in yourself. Trust your instinct and your heart. Though they make take you down paths unknown or off the traditional track, they will not steer you wrong. Keep writing: a journal, poetry, letters…the medium doesn’t really matter. It makes you happy. I know right now you think you cannot make a living with the written word, but books, stories, poems and the written word are in your soul. You will always come back on it.

Don’t listen when people tell you more education is unnecessary. It is important to you and it is something you are going to come back to time and time again. Take the opportunities and chase your dreams. Always, always chase your dreams. Believe in you, believe in love and you will be just fine.

Love,

Yourself.
Is there anything you wish you could tell the younger version of yourself?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Letter to the Graduate

  1. Wow… You look so young… We were young once? Whats happening! Lol…

Leave a Reply

