Inspired By You: Spooky Halloween Ornaments

Any girl worth her crafting salt knows that the best inspiration comes from those awesome, crafty chicks you surround yourself with. There is a reason why I surround myself with creative, wonderful people. The energy of the amazing people I know, and the one’s I have connect through the blogging world provides me with constant inspiration to try new things. In honor of the community we are building here, I have decided to add a little feature to the blog known as Inspired By You.

Last week, the beautiful Jenni of Treacle and Ink posted a wonderful tutorial about making inexpensive Christmas ornaments using salt dough.  It could not have crossed my Google Reader at a better time. I had promised the little boy I nanny that we would do a special project on Friday evening while his mom was out for the evening. I had been planning on making baking soda and vinegar volcanos, but the pouring rain was causing me to rethink that plan. No way was I going to allow a six year old to blow up a volcano indoors.

Friday was the first day of fall and I was already filled with thoughts of pumpkins, apples, changing leaves and all the other inspiration associated with my favorite season. So, I quickly decided we would spend our friday even making salt dough Halloween ornaments.

Things You’ll Need:
Standard table salt
All purpose flour
Water
Halloween or fall inspired cookie cuters
Cookie sheet
Oven
Markers
Glitter pens

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 200 degrees F. Mix up one part salt and one part water to two parts flour. Knead with your hands to form a firm dough. Roll out the dough and punch out shapes with the cookie cutters. Take a pen or pencil and gently poke holes in the shapes to string up the ornaments. Bake in the oven for about an hour, flipping over halfway through.

Allow the shapes to cool completely and then decorate with the pens and glitter.  Hang and engjoy.

Here are the fruits of our labor. I apologize for the ridiculously bad quality of the photos, but my regular camera will not communicate with my computer for some reason. I’m working on it, in the meantime, please bear with me.

Thanks again to Jenni for the inspiration! I think the boy’s green monster/vampire that he handcrafted is my favorite. Have you ever played with salt dough?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

